National Museums Scotland appoint Edinburgh lawyer as new trustee

Culture Minister Fiona Hyslop today announced the appointment of three new members including prominent Edinburgh lawyer Bruce Minto to the Board of Trustees of National Museums Scotland.

Bruce Minto co-founded law firm Dickson Minto in 1985, where he is Managing Partner. He was Chairman of the Stewart Ivory Foundation which was established to encourage, promote and develop financial education in Scotland. He has both Board and fundraising experience with the Royal Museum Project Campaign Board which he has chaired since its inception in 2007.

In addition two other members were appointed to the Board of Trustees:- Miller McLean is a chartered banker and solicitor educated at Glasgow and Edinburgh Universities. He retired in April 2010 as Group General Consul and Group Secretary of the Royal Bank of Scotland Group plc. Throughout his career, Mr McLean developed skills in governance and strategic planning at Board level. A former President of the Institute of Bankers in Scotland, he received the Law Awards of Scotland Lifetime Achievement Award in 2005. He has a keen interest in Scottish history and culture, having curatorial experience with the Royal Bank of Scotland archive, art collections and heritage projects. He is currently Chairman of the Whitehall & Industry group.

Jamie Troughton has been an architect for over 30 years. The founding partner of the Troughton McAslan Architectural practice, he worked on the Yapi Kredi Banksi operations centre in Turkey, where he addressed complex financial challenges. Mr Troughton has been involved with the Henry Moore Foundation, the Royal Society of Arts, the De la Warr Pavilion, the

National Gallery of Modern Art in Edinburgh and contemporary interventions at Blair Castle where he used his skills in museum display and interpretation. He moved to Scotland in 1998 where he formed and runs two real estate development companies.

These appointments will be for four years and will run from October 1, 2010 to September 30, 2014.

All these posts are part-time, attract no remuneration and have a time commitment of ten days per year.

None of the appointees hold any other Scottish Ministerial appointments.